Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Caricature obsessed










My little Floppins loves her drawings of her family. She is ALWAYS wanting me to draw her a picture of "Momma, Da-da, Dee, Dis." The drawings have become more elaborate though. She now usually wants Bop Bop (Grampa), Nene, and then depending on the day either the 7 dwarfs, the swamp creature, Ernie, or all of the above. A picture that I made her the other day of our family with Sneezy, Sleepy, Dopey, Grumpy, Bashful, Happy, and Doc kept her occupied forever. It was so funny. She had it laid out on the carpet and got all of the dwarf figures to place on each caricature of that given dwarf. She's been obsessed lately with them, and I am desperate to borrow my VHS copy of "Snow White" that I have still at Nene's house. That is the one princess movie that we don't have on DVD. She also carries around Anastasia, Drizella, and the Stepmother from "Cinderella" which makes me laugh considering they are all villains. She sets up these girls and all of the dwarfs in the dollhouse and plays forever. She's becoming the elaborate "set-up maker" that Maddie is, and it's adorable to watch.

She is constantly labeling anyone and everyone though as a "Momma, Da-Da, Dee, and Dis." She loves their "Fancy Nancy" books and I HAVE to say that the Mom and Dad are Dan and I, and that Nancy and her little sister are Dee and Dis. It's so funny. She does that with every book she reads. 

She's all of a sudden been saying "Mommy" and "Daddy," and I think she gets a kick out our reactions. We're SO very accustomed to "Momma" and "Da-da" (well "Daddy" from Cran) that it really sounds almost bizarre- at least for me- to answer to 'Mommy!' It makes me laugh how she says it. She then does her cute face, and gives me a leg hug. Speaking of her cute face, she does this all the time to be flirtatious. I wish it would have stuck with the 'stinky eyes' (although she does still do this) so that I could have rested easier knowing that stinky eyes would be her mode of flirting for quite some time. Haha.

Little woman is still continuing to want to, and show quite an interest, in the toilet. I really think it has to do with wanting to be like big sis, because she seems so young to me. But, she definitely understands the correlation between going to the bathroom and the need for the toilet. She always tells me right after she goes and wants to go sit on the toilet, and from time to time, catches herself right before and does poop or pee on the toilet. She's even almost finished her stash of jellybeans. Maddie always knew that she had gone in her diaper, but never felt the need or desire then to sit on the toilet. Until she was good and ready of course. But, Faith I guess does feel the desire to start learning, which is also fine with me. I think she'll learn a lot more gradually than Maddie did, but I am super proud regardless. 

No comments: