Monday, December 29, 2008
Tuesday, December 23, 2008
"Awww, Dis"
Dan and I crack up talking about how Faith refers to herself as "This-" or in Beebster language, "Dis." Maddie always asks and laughs about how she used to say her first words and phrases and all of that, so I can only imagine how hilarious Faith will think it is to know that she used to call herself 'Dis.'
I was getting dinner ready this evening, and I heard Dan in the living room saying "Beeeeeeebster!" Apparently she was trying to unwrap some of the presents that we had in a bag to take to Lancaster tomorrow. She came in to the kitchen with her head hung low, her arms hanging by her sides, and giving me 'stinky eyes' (which is what she does when she wants to avoid eye contact-- although, she also does this to be flirtatious!). It was quite a sight. She tells me with her head hung quite low and her eyes rolled up into her head: "Awwwww, Dis." As in, poor Dis got in trouble. I was dying of laughter. I still can't think of her standing there telling me "Awww Dis" over and over again in such a pitiful tone and standing in that manner with her stinky eyes without bursting out laughing.
My little Dis. She's too precious.
Monday, December 22, 2008
Future farmer
I am fairly confident that Faith would love to be a farmer when she grows up and thinks about her future career. This little woman is obsessed with boo's (cows), baa's (sheep), and every single other farm creature imaginable.
The funny thing is is that being a farmer was my lifetime goal as well up until about the age of 10 or so. I still remember speaking those words: "I want to be a farmer when I grow up." My Beebster is totally me!
I heard the funniest conversation between her and Cran this morning:
Beebster: (asking Maddie) "C'est Boo?" (Are you a cow?)
Cran: No, I'm not a cow!
Beebster: "C'est Baa?" (are you a sheep?)
Cran: "No, I'm not a sheep... silly goose."
Beebster: "C'est ruff?" (Are you a dog?)
Cran: "No, No, No! I'm a KID! I'm not a puppy."
Beebster: "C'est Dee?"
Cran: "Yes, Dis I am your Dee."
I could not stop laughing. In fact, I just heard nearly the exact same conversation right now from the bottom bunk before bedtime.
Saturday, December 20, 2008
Zablo sleeps
The Beebster is such an awesome little sister. She totally fits the definition of an adoring little sister who thinks the absolute world of her Crannie.
She was in heaven today. She loves going to Maddie's dance class, and lately I've been letting her go in to the class at the very end when Ms. Dawn is giving out stickers to all the girls (literally the last 1-2 minutes). She is always dying for it to be the end of the class so that she can go. She's always so patient, and she plays really well on the steps with her enormous set-up of whatever figures, Pets, and Cars she decided to take on that given day. She also comes to me constantly to stand on my lap so she can see her Dee dancing.
Today we were invited in to watch them do 2 little dances. Faith was beside herself that she got to stand with me and watch. She went right up to Maddie and gave her a huge hug with her eyes closed (which is their trademark 'I love you' hug). Then she stood next to me and would tap her shoes on the ground too when they tapped. Ms. Dawn asked Faith if she was going to be her next student, and Faith goes "ESS!" I let her go in at the very end again, and it's always so funny because Faith sidles up very quietly and slyly so that the girls don't even realize she's even in there. Then, all of a sudden, you hear Maddie going "Hey, look! It's my Beebster! This is my little sister, Fafey!" This time Faith sat herself right down in the circle of girls and right next to Ms. Dawn and Cran. She got two stickers for her shirt and a small candycane like the big girls, so she was ecstatic. She gave Ms. Dawn and Melissa huge hugs along with Maddie. They were just too cute today.
Right now she is dressed as Pablo and asleep on the bottom bunk with her hero, her sissy. She insisted on wearing the Pablo costume for the last hour, and didn't want to take it off to go to sleep. So I asked her if she wanted to be Pablo for the night, and she smiled and said "Ess." She was grocery shopping earlier dressed like that. Picture it: a Pablo costume, pink sunglasses that she is constantly wearing, the Tweety purse on her shoulder, and purple high heels. Quite the sight.
Tuesday, December 16, 2008
Littlest woman
Little Beebster seems to be practicing her 'T's constantly these days. I have no idea why, but she is constantly whispering and jabbering "Ttttttt, Tttttttt, Tttttt" throughout the day. She is also putting a lot of words together now and saying lots of phrases and short sentences. Of course, we understand- and have understood her since she started babbling- our Beebster language, but probably not everybody else does. She is now always asking me, "what that, Momma?" or "what this, Momma" or she wants to know WHERE everybody is: "Where Da Da?" "Where Dee?" She is calling Maddie "Dee" now consistently. Maddie is trying everything to get her to say M-A-DDie! It's now 'Dee' and 'Dis' because she also refers to herself consistently as 'Dis,' meaning 'this!' It makes me laugh so much.
She was so funny this weekend when Tia Rosa and Paul came to visit. She was so excited that I would just catch her staring at Steph with her trademark Ernie smile (straight line smile with baring no teeth!) and then she would giggle when Steph would notice.
Beebster helped make snickerdoodles yesterday while her Prince Da-Da was away at the Monday Night Eagles game. She missed him like crazy. She called him a few times and kept asking him where he was. But, she had a good day with Momma and Dee and helped a lot making the cookies. She spent a good bit of today dressing up with Maddie's high heel dress shoes, sunglasses, and a Tweety purse and pretended to go shopping with her grocery cart. She had a blast too outside in the snow. Her obsession of today was to search for the "swamp creature" (Backyardigans) everywhere!
Thursday, December 11, 2008
Beebster and her animals
Telling me her animal sounds.. my most favorites are the lizard and the "ruff" for a puppy!
Wednesday, December 10, 2008
Da-da confusion
The other day at WalMart we were in the checkout line, and Faith noticed the flyer that is taped to all of the cashier lines. It is a flyer with a picture of this particular WalMart's store manager who happens to be a man probably in his late 60's or so and quite heavyset. It says something to the effect that he would be happy to help you with whatever you may need, and of course has his picture. Faith pointed to the man in the flyer and goes "Dis Da-da!!" and got so excited talking about her Da-da. I burst out laughing, the cashier lady burst out laughing, Maddie burst out laughing (and sounded a lot like Thumper when Bambi gets confused and calls everything 'Flower:' "No No No, that's not Da-da!"), and the man behind us in line couldn't stop laughing either. It was hilarious. I assured her that this was not Dan in the picture, and she smiled.
Today she and Maddie got Christmas cards from Grammy with $1 included. They were both beside themselves with excitement that they got a card (which they love receiving) and at the prospect of "money!" Faith showed it to Dan when he got home and pointed to George Washington and proudly stated that he was "Da Da!" We were all laughing so much.
******
Have completely forgotten to mention Faith's love of bras whenever we are in stores. Neither one of them has ever been overly curious about anatomy or anything like that, but for some reason Faith is so drawn to bras whenever we are in Target or WalMart, etc. She runs up to all of the ones that are at her level and touches the pads and smiles. Maddie started cracking up today and asking Faith, "oh, do you like boobs?" Hahaha.
Beebster ate all of her spaghetti at dinner tonight, and successfully earned her ice cream for dessert. She was so excited. She started calling Maddie "Dee" at dinner tonight, which I'm assuming is the last part of 'Maddie' which is much easier to say than the first part. She also calls herself 'Dis!'
Sunday, December 7, 2008
'Gracias'
The Mexican kid's CD that Beebster just loves has shown itself in her new word, "Ga- sas" (gracias). Haha. She was sheepish today when I asked her to say it in front of Dan, but she kept saying it all day yesterday. And, the best part was in the middle of Friday night: Maddie came over to our room at about 6am, and I asked her where Faith was. I went to check in the bottom bunk and didn't find her there. I checked in Faith's room, and Beebster wasn't there either. She was nowhere to be found. I finally went and checked in the living room, and there I found a silhouette of a Beebster standing by the couch cross-legged and sniffing her blankie as though she was lost. I scooped her up, gave her a kiss, and she gave me a neck hug and goes "Ga-sas Momma!" Hahahaha.
She had a wonderful day today. By wonderful, I mean tantrum-free. The girl is testing me like Maddie never did in her life. But, she was as sweet as could be today. She even pooped once in the toilet, and ate her dinner since it was her favorite: taco night. She got a lollipop for dessert from the Santa countdown calendar and was happy as could be. She and big sis played with Faith's shopping cart the rest of the night after baths, and she got a kick out of Dan and I being the cashiers. My little Floppy Disk!
Tuesday, December 2, 2008
2-year check-up
It just so happened that Faith's 2-year well visit turned into a sick visit today.
Right when I thought things were getting better, and my little women were feeling more themselves, Faith started with another fever this morning at about 6am. She was whimpering off and on from then until I finally had to wake her up at 9am. She would whimper with a fever, I would rub her stomach, and eventually the fever would break. She got out of bed feeling totally crummy. She doesn't want to eat anything, and the more I thought about it, she hasn't eaten a decent meal since her lunch at Sesame Place that I packed for them on Saturday. She seems interested in foods, but then doesn't want to eat them. And, it's all been bland stuff too. Bananas, toast, applesauce, plain crackers, jello, chicken noodle soup, etc. No luck though.
Anyway, my petite little 2-year old is a whopping 23 lbs and 32 1/2 inches tall. She's our LITTLE woman. They didn't give her her shots since she is not well at all, so we'll go back on the 18th for that. She is totally lethargic and out of it, but the doctor said that her ears, throat, and chest all look perfect. She said it's probably the stomach virus that hasn't completely left her system yet. And, Faith's still having very loose diarrhea (although in small quantities since she's only drinking, and not eating). Of course, right when we got home, both she and Cran threw up. Very frustrating.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)